Lough Derg

Lough Derg (from Irish Loch Deirgeirt, meaning “loch of the red eye”) is the largest lake within the Shannon River Basin, the second-largest lake (or lough) inĀ Ireland and the third-largest in the whole island (after Lough Neagh and Lough Corrib). It is a long, relatively narrow lake, with shores in the following counties Clare (south-west), Galway (north-west), and County Tipperary (to the east). The lake is the last of the three largest on the River Shannon, with the other two, Lough Ree and Lough Allen lying further north. Some towns and villages on Lough Derg include Portumna, Killaloe & Ballina, Dromineer, Terryglass, Mountshannon and Garrykennedy.